The Upside (2017) Poster

(2017)

User Reviews

Review this title
765 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
10/10
This quadriplegic was in tears
ejp971814 January 2019
I'm so thankful to Kevin Hart, Bryan Cranston, Nicole Kidman, Neil Burger and the rest of those involved in this remake! Movies entertain us but they are even better when they can educate, entertain, and make us laugh at the same time. There have been no movies with big celebrity actors showing that a quadriplegic can actually live a regular life and have happiness. There were 2 big movies that came out and the quadriplegic chose suicide at the end. Instead of being looked at like a regular person, we are looked at with pity. Yes our life is hard! It's not easy being completely dependent on others for everything! It's been 22 years and I don't have millions of dollars or a fully accessible house or a nice "patty wagon" like Bryan's character had in the movie but I have God and family and friends and I live a good life! I still got a bachelors degree and I still found love and I was able to be a mother! We have fun and choose to laugh ALOT despite our circumstances. I hope everybody learns something from this movie! #TheUpside #stillstandingalwayssmiling
543 out of 684 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Not the 10* French classic, but a fun and moving movie nonetheless.
bob-the-movie-man18 January 2019
So, the movie-going audience for this film will divide into two categories: those that have seen the original 2011 French classic "The Intouchables" that this is based on, and those that haven't. "The Intouchables" would have got 10* from me, no problem.

This movie joins a list of standout European movies - for example, "The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo"; "Let The Right One In"; "Sleepless Night"; etc. - that have had Hollywood "makeovers" that don't match up to the originals. And this is no exception. However, it's still been well made and deserves respect as a standalone piece of movie-making.

Based on a true story, Phillip Lacasse (Bryan Cranston) is left both paraplegic and widowed by a string of bad luck. Not that money can buy you everything, but his care arrangements are substantially helped by him being a multi-millionaire ("Not rich enough to buy The Yankees; Rich enough to buy The Mets"). This is from success in investments and writing about such investments.

Depressed, cranky and with a "DNR" that his diligent PA Yvonne (Nicole Kidman) seems unable to comply with, Phillip lashes out at anyone and everyone and so dispatches his carers with monotonous regularity. Dell Scott (Kevin Hart) is on parole, with the requirement to seek work. Due to a mix-up, he finds himself in the employ of Phillip: with the suspicion that he's been hired because he is the very worst candidate imaginable, and thus the most likely to let Phillip shuffle off this mortal coil. But the two men's antipathy to each other slowly thaws as they teach each other new tricks.

Those who have seen "The Intouchables" will fondly remember the first 5 minutes of that film: a flash-forward to a manic police car-chase featuring our protagonists (there played by Fran?ois Cluzet and Omar Sy). It drops like a comedy hand-grenade to open the film. Unfortunately, you can't help but feel a bit let down by the same re-creation in "The Upside". It has all the same content but none of the heart.

After that rocky start, the film continues to rather stutter along. Part of the reason for this I think is Kevin Hart. It's not that he's particularly bad in the role: it's just that he IS Kevin Hart, and I was constantly thinking "there's that comedian playing that role".

However, once the story gets into its swing, giving Cranston more of a chance to shine (which he does), then the film started to motor and my reservations about Hart started to wane. Some of these story set pieces - such as the one about the art work - are punch-the-air funny in their own right. Cranston's timing in delivering his punchlines is immaculate.

There seems to have been some furore about the casting of Bryan Cranston as the role of the disabled millionaire instead of a disabled actor. Lord save us! He's an actor! That's what actors do for a living: pretend to be people they're not! It's also worth pointing out that Fran?ois Cluzet was an able-bodied actor as well.

As already mentioned, Bryan Cranston excels in the role. Phillip goes through such a wide range of emotions from despair to pure joy and back again that you can't help but be impressed by the performance.

On the female side of the cast, it's really nice to see Nicole Kidman in such a quiet and understated role and it's nicely done; Aja Naomi King does a nice job as Dell's protective ex-girlfriend Latrice; and there's a nice female cameo as well, which I won't spoil since I wasn't expecting to see her in the film.

As a standalone film it has some laugh-out-loud moments, some feelgood highs and some moments of real pathos. The audience I saw this with was small, but there was still a buzz in the room and sporadic applause as the end titles came up: God only knows that's unusual for a film! The director is "Limitless" and "Divergent" director Neil Burger, and it's a perfectly fun and innocent night out at the flicks that I commend to the house in this month of celluloid awards heavyweights.

(For the full graphical review, please check out One Mann's Movies on the web or Facebook. Thanks).
211 out of 266 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
An unnecessary movie.
sigmund_igthorn17 January 2019
Remakes happen, as well as re-imaginings. However they make sense when a director/writer have something more to add to the story, especially as beautiful as this one in a French original. Here we got a back to back copy of a quite recent movie. A movie, that was a huge international hit, and is well known outside of the USA, so a so recent remakwe, ekhm, copy, is the more baffling. This is not the case of The Lion King, which was inspired by an obscure Japanese cartoon, and a wider audience got a chance to known the story. THe original made over 400 millions of dollars worldwide... Are Americans so afraid of subtitles, that they have to make their own versions of movies?
482 out of 694 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Remakes Happen
don-6665 January 2019
Yikes -- people giving this a 1 rating, sight unseen, so they can boast that they saw the French original? Excusez moi, gimme a break. You claim to be a movie buff but sabotage and distort the public ratings system? Did you give The Departed or Insomnia a 1 rating too because they are remakes? Did you skip Sorcerer because The Wages of Fear is on your Criterion shelf? I like the original Intouchables a lot, and this American remake, with much of the same material, has similar impact for a wider audience.
494 out of 726 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
IGNORE THE NEGATIVITY
katiewaugh-3562611 January 2019
This is a good movie. Simple. It's not the original French one so don't rate it poorly because of that fact. This is well acted, heart warming, funny and left me feeling good after watching it. Kevin Heart and Brian Cranston have great chemistry and work well together. Ignore the stuck up Wall Street Journal reviewers and just go enjoy.
367 out of 535 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
There will always be remakes
Piixie8822 May 2019
This is a remake of the 2011 French film, "The Intouchables". Being a remake it is bound to not be exactly the same as the original and there will be changes, add ons or takeaways but the story remains almost the same.

With that in mind I watched this movie pretending it was a film all on it's own. I enjoyed it and liked the performances. This is first time I (personally) see Kevin Hart act more serious in a role and he did a good job. Bryan Cranston was superb as always.

Many people dislike this movie because they viewed the original and in my opinion, the original is way better. But let's be fair, that doesn't mean this movie is garbage. I think everyone did a great job, the movie was good and it delivered the same message the original did. It's just up to you whether you want to watch the original or this one instead.
29 out of 38 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Truly inspirational!
bluebeag23 June 2019
Warning: Spoilers
A real relationship between two people with very different problems who find each other's friendship the key to happiness.

One of the best movies I've seen a long time. Highly recommend. Great acting by all.
30 out of 40 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Stands on its Own
nowego13 April 2019
Having seen the original more than five times I can say this easily compares in quality. The original Intouchables from 2011, is in French so you need to read subtitles which never worried me. It is brilliant so if you like this and don't mind subtitles find it and watch it.

Normally I am not a huge fan of remakes that the US does of successful foreign movies, but this is an exception to the rule and I will have no hesitation watching this again.

Ignore the bad reviews they either have not watched this or are just remake haters. This has everything a good movie should have and it is highly entertaining.

Bryan Cranston, Nicole Kidman and especially Kevin Hart are just superb, such a feel good movie with a very very good ending.

Just like I gave Intouchables a few years ago this is an easy 9/10 for me.
55 out of 78 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Deceptive reviews??
fubeca_5111 January 2019
Folks, this film was released in the US Jan 11th, 2019, many of the 1 star reviews were back in October 2018 and appear to have sour grapes that Hollywood seemingly stole the story from the french movie 'The intouchables'...(even though it's marketed as a remake of that film) The mere fact that there are so many of these indignant 1 star ratings suggests that there seems to be a campaign to torpedo the movie's popularity...If all the one star ratings were discounted the movie would likely be somewhere between the 7-8 range
264 out of 413 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
IGNORE THE NEGATIVE REVIEWS!!!!!!!
anuity11 January 2019
I virtually never write a review on IMDb but I have to say something... I'm not sure what's up with negative reviews. Even if you liked the original better, don't be stupid and use that as an excuse to pan this movie. I've never seen the original so I'm not biased. This was a good movie!!
293 out of 486 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
I enjoyed this film!
yogagalCO3 November 2018
Just saw this at the DENVER Film Festival. Ignore the critics. The leads had excellent chemistry and the film was well paced. Hey folks- this is based on a true story forget the PC police and their BS comments.. I enjoyed the original French film but this one stands on its own. Very enjoyable film.
242 out of 425 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
What a fun film!
sunchick116-872-5833838 October 2017
In a weekend where I had to watch two depressing films about disability this film was a welcome surprise. It was funny, it was charming. It was almost like watching 'me before you' without the depressing ending. Heard this is a remake of the French film so I intend to seek that out and watch it now. Was really great to see a film about disability where it wasn't all doom and gloom.
180 out of 333 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Watch the original
senkeldanny9 September 2017
Warning: Spoilers
I am disappointed; there was no need for the movie.. The audience wasn't given anything new, basically the same movie it was based on "The Intouchables". What upsets me is the main actors weren't vibing, especially in the beginning; the set up was just unnatural. The movie continued but you didn't feel the characters, especially if you have seen the original. About the actors.. I really had my hopes up because of the good cast. I felt like there was so much potential.. they should have put Kevin Hart in the chair. That would have made it twice as interesting. The audience was told by the director personally that this is going to be a more serious role by Kevin Hart, but that he is still hilarious. In an interview regarding the movie Bryan Cranston mentioned something like.. that the movie could change the perception of Kevin Hart as an actor. I am sorry, but that is not going to happen. His "more" serious side had no suspense. You haven't felt like this person been through stuff. After a couple of jokes you just thought:" Oh, it's Kevin Hart.." There were funny moments but that is it. Well done Hollywood, you ruined a perfectly good movie and there was so much potential. I could go on, but what for..
439 out of 844 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Ignore the negativity
noskins-2334910 January 2019
Literally every negative comment asks you to see the original one. well, we are in the age of remakes and this one is really not a bad one. I enjoyed this film. I knew what i was going for and it came to my expectations. Ofcourse it's not as good as the original "Masterpiece" but it is really good. So just ignore the absurdity and enjoy the movie on it's own. Cheers :)
160 out of 300 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
It's a remake, but a good one
the_remixer0811 January 2019
Face it, remakes get done. And if you go into this with an open mind just willing to have fun and enjoy a good story, you'd end up saying the same. So ignore the negative reviews purposely trying to bash this film and go see it for yourself if you want to. It's not the best movie in the world, but it's definitely a movie that will leave you smiling in the end.

Kevin Hart really held his own in this movie to the point where I'm hoping he will consider doing more movies like this in the future as he showed good range for a comedian. The match-up with Bryan Cranston and Nicole Kidman was brilliant. I would definitely recommend this for a chill movie night to enjoy with your family.
97 out of 179 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Enjoy this Movie
realityproducing4 January 2019
Every single negative review repeats the same thing, watch the original that's plainly a poor idea for a review, many movies are remade THAT DOES NOT MEAN A REMAKE IS NOT WORTHY
159 out of 307 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Feel good factor to a tragic story
bashfordjames17 January 2019
I was taken aback by this film by the story of a paralysed man and what he faced in life but through the help of carers managed to see the 'upside of life..a great cast and especially the chemistry between Brian cranston and Kevin Hart gave the film even more to it. A mixture of fun and seriousness and thoughtful emotions glide you through the film ending in a positive note.. Definately worth seeing
71 out of 130 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Genuine nurturing film about a quadraplegic
UniqueParticle6 July 2019
Bryan Cranston is easily one of the most badass actors ever because of Breaking Bad, and this is a complete opposite character where he can't walk or do most things. Kevin Hart is great in drama roles, he should do them more. I barely found this funny at all, except a few chuckle worthy moments. Also I really enjoy one of the director's other films Limitless, Neil Burger is very good at his craft! I remember reading this getting hate, I don't get it with this movie, it has a moment of racism in the beginning otherwise this is a heartwarming cozy movie and I am glad I waited to see by renting it at my nearest library!
13 out of 19 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Kevin Hart tips the scales
stretchfoofight20 August 2019
Not seen the originals, don't know much else. Watched this on a flight. Worth a watch, Kevin Hart actually saves this film a bit, adds a drive and humour and reality to the film. Something most common people could relate to. Perhaps that was just the direction of the character.

Cranston is good, Kidman is alright, story is a bit depressing, but it does make you laugh.
7 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
kevin and bryan are top notch in this !!
assassin-354537 January 2019
This movie is really funny and i enjoyed very much !!! just watch it !
117 out of 229 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Trolls Ruin Everything!
GottaBeFresh11 January 2019
I saw the movie tonight and it was fantastic. The reason this movie is rated so poorly on imbd is because of those who are immediately brushing it off as a copy on the French film the intouchables. I don't understand why people don't give things a chance, isn't art meant to be interpreted? Haters are going to hate I suppose. But if they opened their eyes and didn't troll, and maybe gave this film a chance, maybe it would be an eye opening experience for them. I enjoy films for what they are, art, and despite the fact that this is a remake, it is a great film in it's own right. Shame on the trolls, sit on your high horse and spread negatvitity, or here's an idea appreciate art and don't be so quick to dismiss things that rehash old ideas.
112 out of 219 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Remake
rebe-star5 June 2020
This movie is not even close to being as good as the original french one. I really recommend you watch that one before you even consider to rate this one. Of course this isn't the worst movie ever, is just that you can't compare them. I don't really understand why they did a remake, but obviously Americans need their own version...
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Ok as a remake, but still rewatching the original
chris-pulleyn-19 May 2019
I won't nag about this remake. I LOVED "Intouchables" gave it a big fat 10. Up there with Shawshank, still gave this a 7 but mainly because of the story, even if Hart doesn't have Omar Sy's blatant, raw, almost offensive humour or persona. I didn't believe Hart was street wise for a moment. They did mix up some of the original plot points which was confusing. Swapping the Love interest for the secretary, making good with the wife instead of the mother and the happily ever after at the end, was a bit too Holiwood Cliche Nice. It hints of formula. Still, it's a decent movie as is, but I'll still choose the original anyday. By the way people, "The Untouchables" as loads of people are calling it, starred Costner & Connery.
5 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Excellent movie.
baaustin11 January 2019
Wow, I was totally surprised how much I liked this movie. But, I do not usually enjoy action type movies. This is a feel-good movie that leaves you satisfied. Just go.
75 out of 148 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
This movie is only good if you can't read
maxgopalan21 April 2019
Ignore the Weinstein hate. Ignore the backlash to the hate propping up the film as a result. Here's a simple analogy.

If you believe musicians should only remix music if they can improve it, then don't bother with this movie. Watch the French original.

If you don't care about improving existing art and you need it translated into your language, enjoy. But if you can handle reading English subtitles, you'll understand 3 simple truths:

1. This is the highest grossing French film of all time

2. Nobody who has seen both considers the English version equal, let alone superior

3. The English version is nearly a shot for shot remake of the French original, coming off as an inauthentic photocopy

I promise. If you can handle reading subtitles, there is no reason to watch this film.
52 out of 102 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed

 
白小姐四肖必选一肖| 白小姐一肖一碼期期准| 管家婆免费版| 三肖选一肖期期准| 三期內必开| 四肖选一肖期期准香港| 管家婆王中王鉄算盘开奖结果| 六合宝典| 二四六天天好彩免费资枓大全| 香港曾道六肖精选一肖| 二四六精选资料大全| 2020年马会全年资料| 刘伯温全年料四肖选一肖| 天齐网| 白小姐四肖选一肖期准| 蓝月亮料精选资料免费| 香港最准一肖中特公开选料1| 管家婆四肖精选期期准| 四肖选一肖期期准香港| 香港最准一肖中特公开选料1| 香港最准一肖中特公开选料1| 王中王中特免费公开资料选料| 四肖选一肖一码期期准| 蓝月亮料精选资料免费| 三期內必开| 白小姐四肖选一肖期准| 管家婆免费版| 六合在线| 蓝月亮精选料免费大全| 管家婆期期准免费资料精选| 王中王资料大全枓大全| 四肖选一肖期期准香港| 2020年马会全年资料| 246好彩天天免费资枓大全| 六合在线| 香港蓝月亮精选免费资料大全| 开奖特马料| 白小姐四肖必选一肖| 刘伯温全年料四肖选一肖| 2020年马会全年资料| 现场开奖|